Do you know the names of all 51 Shakti Peethas ? Check out here!

Do you know the names of all 51 Shakti Peethas ? Check out here!

Shakti, the greatest creative force in the universe according to Hinduism. It is the feminine divinity. We Indians and Hindus celebrate the power of Shakti in the form of various festivals like Navratri, Kali Puja, Durga puja, etc.

And following that there are significant places too where people worship Shakti.  These places are known as Shakti Peethas.  But the question is what are these shakti peethas ? What is the story behind it ?

Story of Shakti- Peethas –

According to Hindu mythology, the son of lord Brahma, Prajapati Daksha was the father of “Sati.” Sati was the human incarnation of Goddess ” Adi-Shakti.” She grew up listening and admiring the tales of Lord Shiva. According to the legends, Sati and Shiva got married but Prajapati Daksha was against this marriage. So one day Daksha organised a Great Yajna and invited all the deities, gods and sages but excluded his son-in-law Lord Shiva.

Sati was hurt and went to her father to ask the reason behind this. But as soon as she entered her father’s palace, she was attacked with insults directed towards lord Shiva. Sati could not bear this and threw herself in the sacred fire of Yajna.

When Shiva got this news he visited the palace and carried the body of Sati and performed his dance of destruction, Tandava. To calm down the rage of Lord Shiva and bring him back to sanity, Lord Vishnu with his Sudarshana Chakra cut the body of Sati in 51 pieces.

These 51 pieces fell at different parts of Earth and they came to be known as “Shakti- Peethas.”

The 51 Shakti – Peethas – 

There are total 51 Shakti – Peethas , out of which 4 are Adi-Shakti Peethas ( both Shiva and Shakti are worshipped), 18 are Maha Shakti-Peeths and the rest are Shakti-Peeths.

Out of these 51 Shakti – Peethas, only 37 are in India, 7 in Bangladesh, 2 in Nepal, 3 in Pakistan, 1 in Sri-Lanka and Tibet each.

Name of Adi – Shakti-Peethas – 

Bimala Shakti-peetha of Puri, Orissa in India

Bimala Shakti-peetha of Puri, Orissa in India


Tara, Tarini Sthana Peetha in Orissa, India

Tara, Tarini Sthana Peetha in Orissa, India


Kamakhya Temple of Guwahati in Assam, India

Kamakhya Temple of Guwahati in Assam, India


Kalighat Kali Temple of West Bengal, India


Name of all 51 Shakti-Peethas – 

1.  Amarnath: Shakti Mayamaya, Body part–Throat

2.  Attahasa : Shakti Phullara, Body part–Lips

3.   Bahula: Shakti Bahula, Body part–Left Arm

4.    Bakreshwar : Shakti Mahishmardini, Body part–Centre portion between eyebrows

5.    Bhairavparvat: Shakti Avanti, Body part–Elbow

6.    Bhavanipur: Shakti Aparna, Body part–Left anklet

7.  Gandaki: Shakti: Gandaki Chandi, Body part–Forehead

8.    Janasthaan: Shakti Bhramari,  Body part–Chin

9.    Hinglaj:  Shakti Kottari, Bodypart–Top of the head

10.    Jayanti: Shakti Jayanti, Body part–Left Thigh

11.    Yogeshwari: Shakti Yogeshwari, Body part–Palms of Hand & Soles of Feet

12.    Jwala: Shakti Ambika/Siddhida,  Body part–Tongue

13.    Kalighat: Shakti Kalika, Body part–Right Toes

14.    Kalmadhav: Shakti Kali, Body part–Left Buttock

15.    Kamakhya: Shakti Kamakhya, Body part–Genitals

16.    Kankalitala: Shakti Devgarbha, Body part–Pelvis

17.    Kanyashram: Shakti Sravani, Body part–Spine

18.   Chamudeswari:  Shakti JayaDurga, Body part–Both Ears

19.   Kireet: Shakti Vimla, Body part–Crown

20.    Ratnavali: Shakti Kumari, Body part–Right Shoulder

21.     Trisrota: Shakti Bhraaamari, Body part–Left Leg

22.    Manasa: Shakti Dakshayani, Body part–Right Hand

23.    Manibandh:  Shakti Gayatri, Body part–Wrists

24.    Mithila: Shakti Uma, Body part–Left shoulder

25.    Nainativu: Shakti Indrakshi, Body part–Anklets

26.    Guhyeshwari: Shakti- Mahashira, Body Part- Both Knees

27.    Chandranath: Shakti Bhawani, Body part–Right Arm

28.    PanchSagar: Shakti Varahi, Body part–Lower Teeth

29.    Prabhas: Shakti Chandrabhaga, Body part–Stomach

30.    Prayag: Shakti Lalita, Body part–Finger

31.    Kurukshetra: Shakti Savitri, Body part–Ankle Bone

32.    Maihar: Shakti Shivani, Body part–Right Breast

33.    Nandikeshwari: Shakti Nandini, Body part–Necklace

34.    Vishweshwari: Shakti Rakini, Body part–Cheeks

35.    Shivaharkaray: Shakti Mahisha-Mardini, Body part–Eyes

36.    Shondesh: Shakti Narmada, Body part–Right Buttock

37.    Sri Sailam: Shakti Sundari, Body part–Right Anklet

38.     Sri Shail: Shakti Maha-Lakshmi, Body part–Neck

39.    Shuchi: Shakti Narayani, Body part–Upper Teeth

40.    Shikarpur: Shakti Sugandha, Body part–Nose

41.    Tripura: Shakti Tripur Sundari,  Body part–Right Foot

42.    Ujjani: Shakti Mangal Chandika, Body part–Right Wrist

43.    Varanasi: Shakti Vishalakshi, Body part–Earrings

44.    Vibash:  Shakti Kapalini, Body part–Left Ankle

45.    Bharatpur: Shakti Ambika,  Body part–Left Toes

46.    Vrindavan: Shakti Uma, Body part–Ringlets of Hair

47.    Jalandhar: Shakti Tripurmalini, Body part–Left Breast

48.    Ambaji: Shakti Amba, Body part–One part of the Heart

49.     Jharkhand: Shakti Jai Durga, Body part–Second part of the Heart

50.    Danteshwari:  Shakti Danteshwari, Body part–Tooth

51.    Biraj: Shakti Vimla, Body part–Navel


So if you are in a mood for “Devi Darshan” after months long lockdown then you can consider these 51 Shakti-Peethas.


Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply